Frequently Asked Questions
Q:
How do I maintain my removable drives?
A:

With CleanMyDrive you can maintain your removable drives by using its built-in, automated cleanup feature. To enable it, insert your drive, click the lights on the left side of the main CleanMyDrive menu, and turn on the Keep It Clean From Junk On Unmount switch. Another way to do this is to select Clean All Drives Automatically in the Preferences window.

Q:
Is CleanMyDrive safe to use?
A:

CleanMyDrive only monitors the space on your removable drives and cleans them from service junk (such files as .DS_Store, .Spotlight, Thumbs.db, Resource forks and other useless system-generated data) and trashed files (files that are simply removed and appear in the drive's local Trash). That said, CleanMyDrive is completely safe to use.

Q:
What does the “Eject All” command do?
A:

The Eject All command unmounts all of your mounted drives at once. If you close your MacBook or send your Mac into sleep mode after using the Eject All command, you will be able to eject any of your drives with the assurance that they won't be corrupted.

Q:
What kinds of external drives can CleanMyDrive clean?
A:

CleanMyDrive can clean thumb drives and USB media storages. If you wish to clean hard drives as well, you should check out our all-in-one, Mac cleaning solution called CleanMyMac 2.

Q:
Does CleanMyDrive work with network drives?
A:

Yes, CleanMyDrive will show network drives in its main menu, giving you the option to clean them up. However, please remember that by default CleanMyDrive manages only volumes smaller than 16 GB. To change this size setting, go to the Cleaning tab of Preferences.

Q:
How does CleanMyDrive work with Time Machine drives?
A:

CleanMyDrive shows your Time Machine drive in its main menu but does not clean it. This is due to the fact that cleaning your Time Machine drive may corrupt Time Machine backups located on the drive even if you aren't performing any actions with the backups.

Q:
Does CleanMyDrive clean up drives even when if the app is not launched?
A:

No, CleanMyDrive does not monitor your drives when you don't see the icon in the OS X menu bar. However, you can have CleanMyDrive launch automatically on startup by enabling this setting, which is located in CleanMyDrive’s Preferences.

Q:
Where have the files cleaned by CleanMyDrive disappeared to?
A:

CleanMyDrive erases useless files completely, to the point where they cannot be restored.

Q:
I can still see the files CleanMyDrive had selected to delete. Why is this?
A:
This happens because service junk is being generated by the system every time you insert your removable drive into your Mac (or PC). This is why it is useful to clean your drive every time you unmount it.
CleanMyDrive

CleanMyDrive reclaims space on your external drive by safely removing gigabytes of junk. Get the latest features and bug fixes by downloading the latest version of CleanMyDrive below.

Free Download

Didn't find what you were looking for?
Contact Us