Clean up emails by sender
(Updated: )Sometimes it's easier to review your inbox by who sent you emails rather than by type. The Senders category in Email Cleanup brings all your email senders together so you can review their emails in bulk and remove, archive, or unsubscribe from the ones you no longer need.
To review and clean up emails by sender:
In CleanMyMac, click My Tools in the sidebar.
In Email Cleanup, click the disclosure arrow to expand the account list, choose an account, then click Scan.
If you haven't connected your email account yet, learn how to do it.
How long the scan takes depends on the number of emails in your mailbox.
As CleanMyMac processes your mailbox, it may give you the option to review already scanned items — click Review Now to begin, or wait until the full scan is complete.
CleanMyMac then opens the Email Cleanup Manager.
Choose the Senders category on the left.
Browse and select senders and emails you want to unsubscribe from or remove.
CleanMyMac organizes senders into the following groups for easier navigation:
All — all found senders
Unread — senders with unread emails only
By category:
- Primary — senders with emails in the Primary folder in your inbox
- Promotions — senders with deals, discounts, and promotional offer emails
- Updates — senders with account and service notification emails
- No-Reply Emails — senders with emails sent from addresses that don't accept replies
By Attachment Size:
- Large — senders with emails with large attachments
- Average — senders with emails with medium-sized attachments
- Small — senders with emails with small attachments
- Without Attachments — senders with emails without any attachments
By Year:
- Current Year — senders with emails delivered this year
- Last Year — senders with emails delivered last year
- Year Before Last — senders with emails delivered two years ago
- Older — senders with emails delivered more than two years ago
Click "Move to Trash" to instantly move the selected emails to your inbox trash, or click the disclosure arrow next to the button and choose one of the following actions:
Unsubscribe and Move to Trash — unsubscribe from the selected senders and move their emails to your inbox trash.
Only Unsubscribe — unsubscribe from the selected senders without removing their emails.
Unsubscribe and Archive — unsubscribe from the selected senders and move their emails to your inbox archive.
Only Archive — move the selected emails to your inbox archive.
In the dialog that appears, click Continue to confirm the action.
Review the results summary.
To explore the details, click View Log.
To return to the Email Cleanup Manager and continue cleaning up emails by sender, click Manage More Emails.
To return to My Tools, click Done.
NoteYou can also disconnect your email account from here — select the checkbox before clicking Done.