Manage email subscriptions

(Updated: )

Email subscriptions are easy to accumulate and hard to keep track of. The Subscriptions category in Email Cleanup identifies mailing lists in your mailbox so you can unsubscribe in bulk, with the option to also move emails to the trash or archive. To do this:

  1. In CleanMyMac, click My Tools in the sidebar.

  2. In Email Cleanup, click the disclosure arrow, choose the email account you want to scan, then click Scan.

    If you haven't connected your email account yet, learn how to do it.

  3. Wait for the scan to finish.

    Depending on your mailbox size, CleanMyMac may suggest you start reviewing already found senders while it continues scanning in the background. Click Review Now to start early, or wait for the full scan.

    When done, CleanMyMac opens the Email Cleanup Manager.

  4. Choose the Subscriptions category on the left.

  5. Browse and select senders you want to unsubscribe from and emails from those senders that you want to remove or archive.

    CleanMyMac organizes senders into the following groups for easier navigation:

    • All — all found senders

    • Unread — senders with unread emails only

    • Inbox — senders with emails currently in your inbox

    • By Subscription Activity:

      • All Emails Unread — senders with no emails read
      • Active in 30 days — senders who sent emails in the last 30 days
      • Many Emails — senders with a large number of emails
  6. Click Unsubscribe to instantly unsubscribe from the selected senders, or click the disclosure arrow next to the button and choose one of the following actions:

    • Unsubscribe and Move to Trash — unsubscribe from the selected senders and move their emails to your inbox trash.

    • Unsubscribe and Archive — unsubscribe from the selected senders and move their emails to your inbox archive.

  7. In the dialog that appears, click Continue to confirm the action.

  8. Review the results summary.

    • To explore the details, click View Log.

    • To return to the Email Cleanup Manager and continue managing subscriptions, click Manage More Emails.

    • To return to My Tools, click Done.

      Note

      You can also disconnect your email account from here — select the checkbox before clicking Done.

Was this article helpful?

Help us improve Knowledge Base

Related Articles

Contact us

Can’t find answers to your question?

Contact us and we’ll get back to you as soon as we can.

Contact us