< Les didacticiels MacPaw

Votre Mac est infecté par un virus ? Voici comment le supprimer


Vous avez peut-être entendu dire que les Mac ne peuvent pas attraper de virus et qu'il n'existe pas de virus sur les appareils Apple. Et vous l'avez même peut-être dit à vos amis. Malheureusement, c'est faux. Effectivement, il n'y a sans doute pas autant de virus sur les Mac que sur les ordinateurs Windows, par exemple. Mais le risque zéro n'existe pas. Et en plus, les menaces ne se limitent pas aux virus. Il existe en effet toutes sortes de programmes malveillants, qu'il s'agisse de petits morceaux de code qui se téléchargent tout seuls et affichent des publicités pour des produits dont vous n'avez absolument pas besoin, ou de bugs vraiment vicieux qui dérobent vos données personnelles.

Comment savoir si mon Mac est infecté par un virus ?

Avant d'essayer de supprimer un virus de votre Mac, vous devez vous assurer que votre Mac a bien été infecté.
 Nous expliquons cela plus en détail dans cet article, mais voici quelques symptômes courants.

  • Votre Mac se comporte de façon erratique et imprévisible.
  • Votre Mac fonctionne au ralenti, comme si quelque chose freinait le processeur.
  • Vous commencez à voir des publicités sur votre ordinateur.
  • Vous tombez sur des logiciels ou des applications que vous n'avez pas installés.

Ces symptômes peuvent être le signe de la présence d'un virus sur votre Mac, mais ils peuvent aussi avoir d'autres explications.

Supprimer un virus de votre Mac

Heureusement, il existe de nombreuses solutions. Et la suppression de virus sur Mac n'est pas nécessairement payante.

1.  Supprimez les extensions de navigateur

Les extensions de navigateur font partie des types de programmes malveillants les plus courants. Même les extensions qui ne sont pas particulièrement malveillantes peuvent être gênantes. Si vous ne les avez pas installées délibérément, c'est qu'il s'agit de programmes malveillants. Voici comment vous débarrasser des extensions de navigateur indésirables.

Safari

  1. Ouvrez Safari.
  2. Cliquez sur le menu de Safari dans la barre de menus, puis choisissez Préférences.
  3. Cliquez sur l'onglet Extensions, faites défiler la liste vers le bas et cliquez sur les extensions qui ont l'air suspectes.  Lisez la description de l'extension.  Si vous ne vous souvenez pas l'avoir installée, cliquez sur Désinstaller.
  4. Répétez l'opération jusqu'à ce que vous ayez supprimé toutes les extensions dont vous n'avez pas besoin.

Chrome

  1. Ouvrez Chrome.
  2. Cliquez sur le menu de Chrome, puis choisissez Préférences.
  3. Cliquez sur les trois points verticaux en haut à droite de la fenêtre du navigateur (si vous êtes connecté à un compte Google, ils figurent sous votre nom).
  4. Passez la souris sur Plus d'outils, puis sélectionnez Extensions dans le menu qui s'affiche.
  5. Passez en revue les extensions affichées dans la fenêtre du navigateur, puis cliquez sur le bouton Supprimer, pour chaque extension que vous ne reconnaissez pas.

Firefox

  1. Ouvrez Firefox.
  2. Cliquez sur Outils dans la barre de menus, puis sélectionnez Modules complémentaires.
  3. Dans la partie gauche de la fenêtre, choisissez Extensions.
  4. Passez en revue les extensions, puis cliquez sur le bouton Supprimer de chaque extension que vous ne reconnaissez pas.

2.  Désinstallez des applications

Les programmes malveillants peuvent prendre de nombreuses formes différentes. Certains se font même passer pour des logiciels de sécurité, pour vous aider à vous débarrasser des virus ! Machiavélique, n'est-ce pas ?

Si vous avez téléchargé par inadvertance une application qui s'avère être un virus, vous devez la désinstaller immédiatement. Pour cela, vous disposez de deux possibilités. Voici la méthode complexe.

  1. Accédez au dossier Applications et faites glisser l'application suspecte dans la corbeille.
  2. Accédez au dossier ~/Bibliothèque et repérez dans le dossier Application Support les fichiers ayant un lien avec l'application. Faites-les glisser dans la corbeille.
  3. Examinez les autres dossiers figurant dans ~/Bibliothèque, en particulier LaunchAgents et LaunchDaemons. Supprimez les fichiers en lien avec l'application.  Soyez prudent, car la suppression de fichiers utilisés par une application légitime peut entraîner de nombreux problèmes.
  4. Répétez l'étape 3 pour le dossier Bibliothèque principal de votre Mac.

La solution facile : désinstaller des applications en quelques clics

  1. Téléchargez et ouvrez CleanMyMac X.
  2. Cliquez sur Désinstallateur.
  3. Cochez la case située à côté du nom de l'application à supprimer.
  4. Cliquez sur Désinstaller.

Si vous ne connaissez pas le nom de l'application, l'opération est plus difficile. Si vous utilisez CleanMyMac, il vous suffit de faire défiler la liste des applications et de repérer celles que vous ne reconnaissez pas ou dont vous n'avez plus besoin, et de les supprimer. CleanMyMac supprime entièrement les applications sans laisser de trace, y compris les fichiers qui peuvent être négligés dans le cas d'une suppression manuelle. C'est particulièrement important pour les virus, et il est donc préférable d'utiliser CleanMyMac.

3.  Utilisez un outil de suppression des logiciels malveillants

Les instructions ci-dessus fonctionnent très bien dans la plupart des cas, mais pour parvenir à supprimer un virus sur un Mac, il est parfois nécessaire d'utiliser une application spécialisée pour rechercher et supprimer les logiciels malveillants.

Il existe de nombreuses applications sur le marché, et bon nombre d'entre elles sont gratuites ou vous permettent au moins d'analyser votre Mac gratuitement pour déterminer si une intervention s'impose. Soyez prudent, cependant. Il est important de choisir un outil proposé par un éditeur réputé. Si vous cherchez simplement « antivirus mac » sur Google, certains des résultats affichés correspondent peut-être à des outils eux-mêmes malveillants. Au lieu de supprimer des virus de votre Mac, ils vont l'infecter. Nous vous conseillons d'utiliser CleanMyMac X.

Il peut identifier des milliers de menaces, y compris des logiciels malveillants, des logiciels espions, des rançongiciels, des vers et des mineurs de cryptomonnaie. Si CleanMyMac détecte quelque chose de suspect, il vous proposera de les supprimer immédiatement. Voici comment effectuer une analyse complète du système :

  1. Téléchargez CleanMyMac X (téléchargement gratuit) et ouvrez l'application.
  2. Cliquez sur l'onglet Logiciels malveillants.
  3. Cliquez sur Analyser.
  4. Cliquez sur Supprimer.

Se débarrasser des virus sur un MacBook Pro (ou un autre Mac) si les autres solutions échouent

Si vous avez suivi toutes les instructions ci-dessus et que vous ne parvenez toujours pas à supprimer un virus de votre Mac, l'étape suivante consiste à effectuer une restauration à partir d'une sauvegarde Time Machine. La restauration Time Machine offre un avantage important : l'opération est simple et rapide, car il suffit de démarrer sur la partition de secours, et vous pouvez revenir à un état antérieur, juste avant que votre Mac commence à faire des siennes.

En contrepartie, elle présente un inconvénient : les fichiers modifiés depuis la sauvegarde que vous restaurez seront perdus. Vous pouvez copier manuellement les fichiers de votre Mac sur un autre disque ou un service de stockage cloud avant de procéder à la restauration, puis les copier une fois la restauration terminée. Cependant, si l'un de ces fichiers est infecté, vous risquez de contaminer de nouveau l'ensemble de votre Mac. Si vous avez absolument besoin de certains documents qui n'ont pas été sauvegardés ailleurs, utilisez l'un des outils antivirus ci-dessus pour les analyser avant de les copier sur un autre disque. Vous aurez ainsi l'assurance qu'ils sont sans danger.

Voici la marche à suivre pour effectuer une restauration à partir d'une sauvegarde Time Machine

  1. Vérifiez que le disque de sauvegarde Time Machine est bien connecté à l'ordinateur.
  2. Redémarrez votre Mac en appuyant sur les touches Commande et R jusqu'à ce que le logo Apple s'affiche.  Lorsque l'écran Utilitaires de macOS s'affiche, choisissez Restaurer à partir d'une sauvegarde Time Machine.  Cliquez sur Continuer.
  3. Choisissez la dernière sauvegarde réalisée avant que votre Mac ne commence à faire des siennes ou avant l'infection virale.

Vous retrouverez alors votre Mac à l'état dans lequel il se trouvait au moment de cette sauvegarde.

Si vous n'avez pas de sauvegarde Time Machine à restaurer, vous pouvez en dernier recours réinstaller macOS. Avec cette approche, vous repartez de zéro. Vous devez effacer intégralement votre disque de démarrage, puis recommencer. L'opération consiste à réinstaller toutes vos applications et à copier toutes vos données sur votre Mac. Si vous possédez une sauvegarde récente de vos données, datant d'avant l'infection de votre Mac, vous pouvez l'utiliser pour copier les données à l'issue de la réinstallation. Sinon, vous devez dès maintenant sauvegarder vos fichiers importants. Pensez cependant à les analyser au préalable avec un antivirus pour vérifier qu'ils ne sont pas infectés.

Pour installer proprement macOS, vous avez besoin d'un disque d'installation amorçable. Nous ne pouvons pas détailler la procédure de création de ce disque dans cet article, mais nous avons rédigé un guide complet

Une fois que vous avez créé votre disque d'installation amorçable, branchez-le à votre Mac, accédez à Préférences Système, choisissez Disque de démarrage, puis sélectionnez le disque que vous venez de brancher. Redémarrez votre Mac en appuyant sur les touches Commande et R, puis suivez ces instructions :

  1. Lorsque l'écran Utilitaires de macOS s'affiche, choisissez Réinstaller une nouvelle copie de macOS.  Cliquez sur Continuer, puis à nouveau sur Continuer lorsque la fenêtre suivante s'affiche.
  2. Acceptez les conditions générales, puis sélectionnez le disque interne de votre Mac.
  3. Cliquez sur Installer.  Attendez que votre Mac redémarre.
  4. Votre Mac démarrera comme s'il s'agissait d'un Mac neuf, et vous devez ensuite suivre la procédure de configuration du début à la fin.
  5. Une fois la configuration terminée, copiez les fichiers dont vous avez besoin à partir de la sauvegarde et dont vous êtes certain qu'ils n'ont pas été infectés.

Comme vous pouvez le constater, il existe de nombreuses façons de supprimer un virus d'un Mac, selon la gravité de l'infection et le type de virus concerné. S'il y a une seule chose à retenir : si vous pensez que votre Mac est infecté, ne vous inquiétez pas ! Il y a toujours une solution.


Savoir, c'est pouvoir! Alors, partagez cet article:
CleanMyMac
CleanMyMac X
Votre Mac. Comme neuf
Téléchargement gratuit
MacPaw utilise des cookies pour personnaliser votre expérience sur notre site Web. En poursuivant l'utilisation de ce site, vous acceptez notre politique de cookies. Cliquez sur ici pour en savoir plus.

Got a virus on your Mac? Here’s how to remove it

You may have heard it's said that Macs don’t get viruses. That there’s no Apple virus. You may even have said it yourself. Sadly, it’s not true. The latest State of Malware Report by Malwarebytes describes a significant rise of Mac threats of over 400% in 2019. The report claims that cybercriminals now target Macs severely, due to increasing market share. So, do you still believe that Macs don’t get viruses? Continue reading to discover how to remove a virus from your Mac and protect your files from getting infected.


Can Macs get viruses? 

Macs have been considered safer than Windows PC for a long time. Macs are indeed secure, thanks to various built-in features, such as GateKeeper, that doesn't allow installing anything not approved by Apple. But, as the Apple security features have improved, so is malware. According to the State of Malware report mentioned before, Macs are mostly attacked by adware and potentially unwanted programs (PUP), which macOS has no counteraction against. So, answering the question, yes, Macs do get viruses, and they may impact your sensitive file and data seriously.


How do I know if my Mac has a virus?

Before you remove a virus from a Mac, you need to be sure it actually has one. We’ve covered that in more detail in this article but here are a few pointers.

  • Your Mac starts behaving erratically and doing things you don’t expect;
  • Your Mac starts running very slowly as if something is hogging the processor;
  • You start seeing adverts on your desktop;
  • You find software or applications you didn’t install.
  • An app asks for your administrator password

These symptoms may mean your Mac has a virus, although there could be other explanations.

separator-protection

How to remove a virus from a Mac manually 

Thankfully, there are lots of ways to do it. And Mac virus removal doesn’t have to cost money. 


1. Delete browser extensions

One of the most common types s of malware comes in the form of browser extensions. Even extensions that aren’t particularly malicious can be annoying, and if you didn’t deliberately install them, they’re malware. Here’s how to get rid of unwanted browser extensions.

Safari

  1. Launch Safari.
  2. Click Safari in the top menu, then choose Safari Extensions.
  3. Look down the list and click on any extensions that look suspicious. Read the description of the extension. If you don’t remember installing it, click Uninstall.
  4. Repeat until you’ve removed all the extensions you don’t want.

Chrome

  1. Launch Chrome.
  2. Click on the 3-dot icon in the upper right corner.
  3. Select More Tools and choose Extensions from the menu that appears.
  4. Look over the extensions in the browser window and click Remove on any that you don’t recognize.

Firefox

  1. Launch Firefox.
  2. Click the 3-line (hamburger) icon at the top right corner.
  3. Choose Add-ons.
  4. Click the Extensions tab and remove any you don’t recognize.

Remove-browser-extensions

2. Uninstall apps

Malware comes in lots of different forms. And it even comes disguised as security software to help you get rid of viruses! Devious, huh?

If you’ve inadvertently downloaded an app that turns out to be a virus, you need to uninstall it immediately. There are a couple of ways to do this. Here’s the hard way.

  1. Go to your Applications folder and drag the app to the Trash.
  2. Go to ~/Library folder and look in the Application Support folder for any files related to the app and drag those to the Trash.
  3. Look in the other folders in ~/Library, especially Launch Agents and Launch Daemons and remove any files related to the app from there. But be careful, if you remove files used by legitimate apps you could cause lots of problems.
  4. Repeat Step 3 for your Mac’s main Library folder.

The easy way: Uninstall apps in a few clicks

  1. Download and launch CleanMyMac X.
  2. Click Uninstaller.
  3. Check the box next to the application name.
  4. Click Uninstall.
The easy way to Uninstall apps

If you don’t know the name of the application, it’s more difficult. But if you use CleanMyMac X, all you have to do is scroll through the list of applications and look for any you don’t recognize or don’t need and remove them. CleanMyMac X removes every trace of an app, including files that you may overlook when you remove applications manually. This is particularly important for viruses, so it’s much better to use CleanMyMac X.

What makes this method even better, is that CleanMyMac X also shows you app leftovers that remained after the main app is gone. 


3. Escape the virus: Create a new user profile 

Usually, viruses are attached to a particular user profile on your computer. In this way, they are able to seize control of your admin profile. But you can start if from scratch and create a new user on your Mac. Don't worry, you will be able to transfer all your important data from one user to another. 

Go to Apple menu > System Preferences, click Users & Groups.

  1. Click the lock icon  , then type in your admin password.
  2. Use the plus sign to add a new user profile.

To move your important information from one user to another, you will need to access the Shared folder. 

  1. Click on the Finder > Go to Folder...
  2. Paste in this: /Users

Can you see the Shared folder? Here you can copy the needed files from your old user account. Hurray, you've started a clean, virus-free life!


Bonus tip: Clean up your login items

Login items are apps that launch automatically upon startup. Malware programs would often sneak into your login items without you knowing. How to prevent them from launching?

  1. Go to Apple Menu > System Preferences.
  2. Click Users & Groups.
  3. Click on the Login Items tab


From here you can manage them using the [+] and [—] buttons.


How to remove a virus from Mac automatically

While the above steps work very well in lots of cases, sometimes the Mac virus removal means using a dedicated application to scan and remove malware from your Mac.

Scan your Mac for viruses

There are lots of these applications available, and many of them are either free or allow you to at the very least scan your Mac for free to find out whether you need to take action. Be careful, however. It’s important to choose a tool from a reputable vendor. If you just google ‘Mac antivirus tool’ some of the results may well be for tools that are themselves malicious and instead of removing viruses from your Mac will infect it. We recommend using CleanMyMac X.

It can identify thousands of malware threats, including adware, spyware, ransomware, worms, cryptocurrency miners. And if CleanMyMac finds something suspicious, it will offer immediate removal. Besides, it ensures real-time Mac virus protection, informing you when you’re about to install something harmful. Here’s how to perform a full system scan:

  1. Download CleanMyMac X (free download) and launch the app.
  2. Click on the Malware Removal tab.
  3. Click Scan.
  4. Click Remove.
Use a malware removal tool

Disable the invisible agents

Some small supporting applications never show up in the Login items. They are called the Launch agents and may as well be hacked by viruses. You can find them with the universal Mac cleaner, CleanMyMac. This app is notarized by Apple, so you are safe using it.

  1. Launch the app and go to the Optimization tab.
  2. Click Launch agents

How many apps do you see there? Remove any flash players, automatic updaters, or everything else that you find suspicious. Even if you deleted the main app itself, its launch agents may still occupy your drive. Here is what I have:


How to get rid of a virus on a Macbook Pro (or any other Mac) if all else fails

If you’ve run through all the steps above and are still having problems trying to remove a virus from a Mac, the next step is to restore from a Time Machine backup. The benefit of restoring from Time Machine is that you can do it quickly and easily by booting into the recovery partition and you can choose to backup to a state just before your Mac started behaving erratically.

The downside of this option is that any work you’ve done since the backup you restore from will be lost. You could manually copy files from your Mac to another drive or cloud storage service before you restore and then copy them back afterward. However, if one of those files is infected, you risk contaminating your Mac all over again. If there are documents you really need and that aren’t backed up elsewhere, use one of the antivirus tools above to run a scan on them before you copy them to another disk. That way you’ll know they’re safe.


Here’s how to restore from a Time Machine backup

  1. Make sure you’re connected to your Time Machine backup drive.
  2. Restart your Mac, holding down the Command and R keys until you see the Apple logo. When the macOS Utilities screen appears, choose Restore from a Time Machine Backup. Click Continue.
  3. Choose the last backup before your Mac started misbehaving or you suspect you were infected with a virus.
restore-from-time-machine-backup

Your Mac will now return to the state it was in when you made that backup.

If you don’t have a Time Machine backup to restore from, the last resort is to reinstall macOS. This is a ground-zero approach. You’ll need to wipe your startup drive completely clean and start again. That means reinstalling all your applications and copying all your data back to your Mac afterward. If you have a recent backup of your data, from before your Mac became infected, you can use that to copy data from after you re-install. If not, you’ll need to back up important files now — but scan them with an antivirus tool first to make sure they’re not infected.

To perform a clean install of macOS, you’ll need a bootable installer disk. Creating one is beyond the scope of this article, but there is a comprehensive guide here

Once you’ve made your bootable installer, plug it into your Mac, go to System Preferences, choose Startup Disk and select the disk you just plugged in. Restart your Mac, holding down Command-R and do the following:

  1. When the macOS Utilities screen appears, select Reinstall a new copy of macOS. Click Continue and then Continue again when the next window appears.
  2. Agree to the terms and conditions and select your Mac’s internal disk.
  3. Click Install. Wait for your Mac to restart.
  4. Your Mac will start up as if it’s a new Mac and you’ll need to go through the process of setting it up from scratch.
  5. Once you’ve set it up, copy back the files you need from the backup and that you know aren’t infected.

As you can see, there are many different ways to remove a virus from a Mac, depending on how badly infected it is and what kind of virus it is. The main thing to remember is if you suspect your Mac is infected, don’t worry. It can be fixed! Move on to our little Q&A section to find answers to questions many users ask.


FAQ

Do you need an antivirus for Mac? 

Most of the antiviruses protect your Mac in real-time, making it apparent for you when an intruder appears. So, with antivirus software, you can be sure no PUP or adware can infect your computer. Antivirus is not a must-have software, but it indeed adds up a layer of protection if you use it. 

Can you get a virus from opening an email?

Email viruses do exist, but you can’t catch one just by opening an email. What you need to be cautious with are email attachments. If you don’t want who that email comes from, avoid opening the attachment. It can contain PUP and other things you don’t need on your computer.

How to do a virus scan on Mac? 

To do a quick virus scan, inspect your Mac for the software you didn’t intentionally install. Some apps can come in bundles hiding malicious programs that end up appearing on your Mac. For a more thorough virus scan, get CleanMyMac X. All you need to do, is to install the app, go to Malware Removal, and hit the Scan button. 

How to remove fake “Update Adobe Flash Player” pop-ups on Mac?

Try to find and delete the last app you installed before you started seeing such fake alerts. Also, remove browser extensions from the web-browser where you see such pop-up ads. Some malicious extension can be responsible for this. If nothing helps, scan your Mac for viruses using the antivirus of your choice. 


These might also interest you:

CleanMyMac X
CleanMyMac X

Your Mac. As good as new.